2012 World Taekwondo Hanmadang Results Featured

Taekwondo Australia fielded a team of thirteen athletes to represent Australia at the recent 2012 World Taekwondo Hanmadang competitions which were held in Seoul, Korea in late August. The Australian Team was made up of twelve males and one female from four different states which included Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia and Western Australia. Australia competed in Power Breaking, All Round Breaking, Individual and Creative Poomsae with competitors being restricted to two events.

Our team had plenty of competition from the 42 countries participating in the competition which had a field of around 3,500 competitors. However, our team was able to meet the challenge winning 12 medals which included 2 Gold, 2 Silver and 8 Bronze, and 3 trophies.

The competition turned out to be a very special one for Russell Wood, as not only did he have the honor of being the Manager and Coach for the very successful Taekwondo Australian Team, but he also won two medals in poomsae, received a Citation from the World Taekwondo Federation for his services to taekwondo, and was also promoted to 8th Dan.

Taekwondo Australia supported the team financially and were outfitted with adidas doboks, belts, polo shirts and track suits by our wonderful major sponsor JOLS. Once again Australia fielded one of the best outfitted teams, which were the envy of several countries.

Should any members wish to gain additional information about the various Hanmadang events, please contact Team manager Russell Wood via email by clicking HERE.

Please note that a Kukkiwon Certificate is mandatory if you wish to join the Australian Team at the 2013 World Taekwondo Hanmadang which is currently scheduled for July 2013.

Competitor Event Result
Bronwyn Butterworth Poomsae Gold and Bronze
Russell Wood (Manager/Coach) Poomsae Silver and Bronze 
Phillip Monaghan Poomsae Silver
Robert Pace Poomsae 2 x Bronze
Hiep Hoa (Eric) Phan Poomsae Bronze
Richard Huynh Poomsae Bronze
Reza Hassani Poomsae Bronze
David White Breaking Gold
Phillip Monaghan Breaking Bronze
Jean El Kfoury Breaking Silver
Shane Mckeahnie Breaking Bronze
Phillip Monaghan Breaking Bronze
Hiep Hoa (Eric) Phan Breaking Bronze
Reza Hassani Breaking Finals
Joseph Tamer Breaking Finals
Hassan Iskandar Breaking  Finals
John Gradisar Breaking Finals

Read 3958 times